This is the story of my father reconnecting with his two youngest children after three long years of silence, because of Hurricane Sandy.

 

"Boats floating blocks away from the ocean,
Losing everything they’d worked their lives for.
No one expected nature to be so ferocious -
Destruction had just never shown it’s face before.

So many lives forever effected & corrupted,
But in one man’s life, beauty erupted.

His own flesh and blood had been silent for years,
Day by day struggling his worst fear, forever fighting the tears.

So while the rest of the world was asking ‘why?’
I saw an opportunity I couldn’t deny.
Forgive me, but I had good reason why...
Because you’ve never seen pain, till you’ve heard a grown mans cry.
My younger sister, his youngest daughter, cried for a reply -
I told her I was clueless, and that was the most beautiful lie.
I had just talked to him, but I wanted her to try.

She reached out to him, to make sure he was okay,
He assured her of today, but life never promises another day.
He said if she wanted to see him, there wasn’t a moment he’d delay.
In this moment, a fathers heart would mend,
And he’d never again let his kids get away...

Such destruction wasn’t devastating all around,
Maybe there is some beauty in the breakdown.
So many lives corrupted...
But in one man’s life, beauty erupted."




Leave a Reply.